Dream Chemistry Award 2022 is coming

Czas czytania: około 4 minuty

Dream Chemistry Award 2022 is coming

Nothing is better than dreaming about progress, innovation, and the future. All scientists have a dream, but not everyone dares to dream loudly, crossing schematic boundaries and jumping into the deep water. There are many grants supporting research and awards appreciating curious minds; however, there is only one unique award worldwide for visionary research projects in chemistry or a chemistry-related discipline. It is the Dream Chemistry Award.

Global challenges in many fields, from environmental pollution to energy saving and health issues, desperately need to be solved as soon as possible. The curiosity of intriguing minds combined with passion and fresh ideas enhances the process, which is what we need - scientific dreamers ready to change the world and make their dreams come true.

No matter how far-fetched the idea is, this award recognizes inspiring young scientists with bold, fresh ideas. This prize is for researchers worldwide who dare to imagine new directions for research. It is for visioners of the world that societies want to create and those ready to solve challenging research problems. In other words, for those who are ready to change the world. The Dream Chemistry Award was established in 2013 by Robert Hołyst from the Institute of Physical Chemistry of the Polish Academy of Sciences (IChF), Warsaw, Poland. A few years ago, IChF joined forces with the Institute of Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry of the Czech Academy of Sciences (IOCB), Prague, Czech Republic. The current competition is in Warsaw on December 5-6, where the finalists will present the most remarkable projects to the experts' panel.

Who are the finalists of the Dream Chemistry Award 2022 competition? They are extraordinary, talented minds dreaming of solving the fundamental problem and shaping modern areas of chemistry-based fields toward changing the world. Their dreams touch upon four crucial challenges for humanity: climate change, energy storage, artificial life, and brain-machine interfaces. 

"Nomination to this award boosts the trust in new ideas, research, and even more. It makes the dreamers stronger than ever before," – remarks Claudia Contini pursuing the field of Potential of Artificial Cells in Biohybrid Robotics.

Ahmed Badran, who is particularly interested in Chemical Reprogramming of Biological CO2 Capture to Reverse Climate Change, says, "The Dream Chemistry Award is an exciting opportunity to push the frontiers of science, and a unique venue to share our creative vision and passion with global scientific leaders".

"This competition is supportive of pushing forward in research. It assures me to follow the particular field and never give up," – says Liang Feng, who is focused on Active Artificial Molecular Factories.

Carl Brozek working on Capturing Energy with Controllable Chaos, adds "This award shapes my science towards a better future. With this positive feedback, it gives me the confidence to believe in scientific dreams".

Ghislaine Vantomme dreaming about Supramolecular Materials for the Next Computing Paradigm, claims, "We should take time to dream, and the nomination to this award assures me that I took a good direction I should follow. This award appreciates the creativity making dreams come true"

The Dream Chemistry Award starts with a free imagination and gives recognition by the scientific committee, making it possible to step closer to the realization of the ideas presented in the contest, a statuette, and a financial reward of 10,000 EUR. 

The Honorary Committee of the Dream Chemistry Award Contest brings together outstanding scientists around the world, including a Nobel Prize Winner, Prof. Richard Schrock from MIT, Prof. Josef Michl from the University of Colorado Boulder, Prof. Krzysztof Matyjaszewski from Carnegie Mellon University, and Prof. Bartosz Grzybowski from Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology working on chemistry, physics, biology, medicine, and materials engineering. The Award's Scientific Committee brings together top researchers from Poland and Czech Republic.

This extraordinary competition will strengthen finalists to pursue their scientific dreams. Who will be the winner of the 2022 competition? Let us see.

Prof. Robert Hołyst
Institute of Physical Chemistry of the Polish Academy of Sciences

More details: https://www.dreamchemistryaward.org/